Meet our Executive Advisory Board

The composition of Hope & Cope’s Board includes new members who bring fresh perspectives as well as veteran board members who provide vital historical knowledge and experience of the organization. Members are chosen for their expertise and leadership in community service and philanthropy, business, finance, law and marketing. Former Board members who served faithfully for many years have been invited to sit on the Board of Trustees.

Current Board Members – 2015

  • Joëlle Adler, Founder, ONEXONE
  • Dr. Gerald Batist, Director, Segal Cancer Centre, Jewish General Hospital
  • Myer Bick, President, Jewish General Hospital Foundation
  • Lori Cohen, Manager, Marketing and Communications,
  • Jack Dym, President, Pipe and Piling Supplies Ltd.
  • Me Sylvie Grégoire, Legal consultant and trainer
  • Sal Guerrera, President, SAJO Construction Inc.
  • Joel King, Co-Chair
  • Marlene King, Co-Chair
  • Robin Krakower, C.A.
  • Sheila Kussner, O.C., O.Q., Founder, Hope & Cope
  • Carmen Loiselle, Ph.D., Scientific Director, Hope & Cope
  • David Martz, Management Consultant
  • Jacques Misrachi, Controller, Jewish General Hospital Finance Dept.
  • Suzanne O’Brien, Executive Director, Hope & Cope
  • Laurence Paperman, Owner, Direct Alert
  • Martin Schwartz, President and C.E.O., Dorel Industries
  • Roslyn Slawner, President, Hart Resource Development
  • Howard Stotland
  • Ida Teoli, President, Hope & Cope
  • Lillian Vineberg, Immediate Past Chairman, Hope & Cope
  • Sylvia Vogel, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, CandermPharma
  • Susan Wener, Therapist, author
  • Nancy Wiseman, Immediate Past President, Hope & Cope

Meet our Administrative Committee

Led by Hope & Cope’s President, the Administrative Committee is a leadership body comprised of volunteer team leaders, senior staff and past presidents. The committee meets several times a year to share team reports and review and revise administrative policies and procedures as they relate to volunteer roles and responsibilities and program management.

  • Ida Teoli, President
  • Nancy Wiseman, Immediate Past President
  • Suzanne O’Brien, Executive Director
  • Sheila Kussner, Founder
  • Marlene and Joel King, Co-Chairs, Hope & Cope
  • Marcelle Kecman, Wellness Centre Manager
  • Hena Kon, Recording secretary

Volunteer Team Leaders

  • Brigitte Cappe-Gyot and Estelle Rosenthal, Radiotherapy
  • Charlene Freger, Hospital Visiting Team
  • Jack Hazan, Physical Activities
  • Sonia Hazan, Main Office
  • Barbara Hops, Education
  • Dr. Gayle A. Shinder, Newsletter
  • Eliane Telio, Oncology
  • Edie Werk, Office (Wellness Centre)
  • Heleena Wiltzer, Palliative Care

Past Presidents

  • Serena Black
  • Jeannette Valmont
  • Lucy Fazio
  • Joan Ungar
  • Brenda Blatt
  • Susan Polisuk
  • Jessica Miller
  • Barbara Knobovitch
  • Phyllis Waxman

Congratulations to Dr. Bernard Lapointe, winner of the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award from the Canadian Society of Palliative Care Physicians. The award is "in recognition of his sustained and lasting contribution to palliative medicine and to the CSPCP."

Félicitations au Dr Bernard Lapointe, chef du Service des soins palliatifs, pour ce prix bien mérité!
... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

We can`t wait to see the garden bloom this spring! ... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

Our thanks to Bernie Gurberg, owner of the Dollar Cinema in Decarie Square, and his staff for donating over $800 in tips to Hope & Cope as well as free movie passes for cancer survivors.

Merci, Bernie, pour votre générosité !
... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

Nothing will keep our participants away from Lou's House, not even 30 cm of snow. Thank you Michael, you are a superstar! ... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

On International Women’s Day, we salute the smart, savvy, bold and inspirational women who are part of Hope & Cope’s Executive Advisory Board. A huge high-five and thank you to: Sheila Kussner, Marlene King, Susan Wener, Sylvia Vogel, Roslyn Slawner, Joëlle Berdugo Adler, Deborah Bridgman, Sylvie Grégoire, Robin Krakower, Dr. Carmen Loiselle, Eden Flomen and Suzanne O'Brien. #Internationalwomensday, #womenshealth #cancer #hopeandcope

En cette Journée internationale de la femme, nous tenons à saluer les femmes intelligentes, avisées, audacieuses et courageuses qui font partie du comité exécutif de L'espoir, c'est la vie. Nous adressons donc toutes nos félicitations et un grand merci à : Sheila Kussner, Marlene King, Susan Wener, Sylvia Vogel, Roslyn Slawner, Joëlle Berdugo Adler, Deborah Bridgman, Sylvie Grégoire, Robin Krakower, Dre. Carmen Loiselle, Eden Flomen et Suzanne O’Brien.
... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook